Calling All Readers: Ask Me Anything

In the past I’ve loved when other bloggers have done “ASK ME!” type blog posts. Kate With a Camera has done it and I’m positive others have but I cannot for the life of me remember. In any case, it’s a fun way to learn a little more about the folks behind the blog or anything else you’re curious about really.

So please, my faithful readers, leave a comment asking me something you want to hear more about. I will try to answer most, if not all, of them (within reason, of course ;-)) over the next few weeks.

4photo4

10 thoughts on “Calling All Readers: Ask Me Anything

  1. Do you think it’s better to rigorously screen all potential adopters in order to make sure that each pup is adopted into exactly the right home for him/her? Or is it more important to get as many dogs out of shelters and into homes as possible, even if a portion of them then end up getting returned? What do you say to people outside the animal rescue community who complain that it’s too difficult or the requirements are too strict to adopt a dog, so they think it’s better just to buy instead?

  2. Can you talk about barriers to adoption for renters? I’ve got a pibble-rottie mix pup, and found it very hard to find a place to rent that would allow (a) a dog, (b) a dog over 30 pounds, and (c) a dog labeled an “aggressive” breed. Often those that allow pets require a crazy huge deposit, often doubling the security deposit and adding a significant sum to the monthly rent. Additionally, when looking at a lot of adoption sites (rescues, sanctuaries, SPCAs), many dogs have a flag that says they require a home with a fenced yard – something again a renter can’t help. I’m glad things worked out for me in the end and feel blessed that I have the resources to deal with the added obstacles, but it’s a long uphill battle in the snow every time!

  3. I would love it if you would talk more about your job and what that entails along with documenting your job switch and move to DC. Also if you could discuss more about taking classes to be a trainer and what all that involves. :)

  4. I’d love to hear more about your experience with force-free training and learn about local (DMV) resources you’d recommend. Through your blog I’ve been “introduced” to this philosophy and am feeling so guilty for not adopting this method with my dogs when I originally went through training with them 9 years ago. I say “introduced” because I was aware of clicker training, but had no idea there was such a fundamental difference between clicker training and the reinforcement-based training that I used.

  5. What do you think is the biggest challenge in fostering? What is your favorite part? Who was your toughest dog? What do you think the hardest issue/behavior is to work with? Why don’t you have a dog of your own? Will you ever get a perma-dog?

    Also, we’re super excited to read about your move/new job/training classes, so please keep us posted on that, too!

  6. Pingback: Ask Me Anything Answers: How Did It Start | Peace, Love, & Fostering

  7. Pingback: Ask Me Anything Answers: Adoption Standards | Peace, Love, & Fostering

  8. Pingback: Ask Anything: Adoption Standards - DogShelters.com

Leave a Reply

