What to Expect from PL&F

It should be no surprise this time around that I’m going to take a little break from fostering. Little, I promise. If you want any additional explanation for my reasoning, check out my post after Baxter got adopted or my post about fostering at my age. I’m going up to an internship at Animal Farm Foundation (!!) the second week of September, so I told myself I will wait until after that to even consider looking at potential fosters.  Granted, I’ve had some close calls in the few short weeks I’ve been without a dog so far, but it really doesn’t make sense for me to bring a dog home and then leave for a week. Therefore I’m waiting.

So, what can you expect on this blog between now and my next foster? I’m hoping to start a bit of a schedule, similar to our favorite Chix-a-lot Friday – except that mine will be in the form of Shelter Dog Wednesday! I get to spend time with an entire shelter full of wonderful, adoptable dogs just waiting for their time in the spotlight, so one will be here every Wednesday. Past that, I hope to talk about lots of other things dog, including fun events, a little bit of photography, Jasmine’s House adoptables – whatever I think you all will want to hear about.

Which brings me to my next point. Who’s got questions? Who wants to hear about something specific? Who wants me to tell them about what? I’d love to hear your input on what you want to read about. I’ll do my best to answer with a post if I can.

Thanks for sticking with me during this brief doggy hiatus!

12 thoughts on “What to Expect from PL&F

  1. A hiatus is an excellent plan. You want to keep yourself fresh for yourself and your fosters and you deserve a human-schedule life, too! Going to AFF is an fantastic idea. They are wonderful people doing wonderful things for dogs. You’ll learn so much.

    Please, keep the blog going, even if it’s not every day. Tell us about your internship, people you meet, things you learn, the dogs you hug. Inquiring minds want to know!!

  2. I hope to hear about Animal Farm Foundation! Keep us posted on what you are doing…I am sure there will be lot’s to talk to us about! I am always very interested in what you are up to! Your blog is very informative for me even though I do not have a dog at this point in time but I know one day I will have at least one, two or ? So, have a great day and I look forward to hearing about what is going on in your life! xoxo

  3. I just looked up Animal Farm Foundation. What an awesome place. It looks like the interneship is going to offer lots of new ideas and suggestions for improving the lives of all your shelter residents, not just the pitties. But focusing exclusively on pitties makes AFF REALLY special. I, too, hope you meet great folks and learn a ton to bring back home with you. Share please… :)

  4. I’d love to hear if you have some advice on adopting for my husband and I. With so many wonderful pitties in need of a good home, my husband and I are both interested in adopting one that gets along well with other dogs (we currently have a goofy lab) as well as children. While both my husband and I are on the same page, my mother-in-law is VERY much against us adopting a dog that has any pit bull in it. She has said that if we adopt one she won’t ever come to visit us because she’s just so terrified of them.

    Do you have any advice? I know that there are a lot of other types of dogs that are looking for forever homes, but with so much discrimination against pitties I would love to be able to find one a happy home.

    • I’m (mostly) kidding … but you could take advantage of the fact that “pit bull” isn’t really a breed and just tell her the dog is a “boxer mix” or a “bulldog mix”. By the time she figures it out she may already be in love?

      Like I said above, I’m kidding because deception typically isn’t the best way to win people over in the long term. Why not point her here and over to love and a leash to read up?

    • Liz! Great to hear from you! I am THRILLED you want to adopt a pittie, despite the backlash you are getting. I can almost guarantee you will win many of the naysayers over when you adopt a great dog! Any chance you can email me so we can talk more about your options? peacelovefoster@gmail.com – hope to hear from you!

  5. Pingback: That Time I Failed | Peace, Love, & Fostering

Leave a Reply

