Meet Adoptable Charlie!

Warning: CUTENESS OVERLOAD in every post this week.

I had the pleasure of watching Charlie, an adoptable 1+ year old “pit bull” dog, while his foster family was out of town for Thanksgiving. You might recognize him from my posts about Pit Bull Awareness Day, where I was first introduced to him. I was instantly hooked by his cute round eyes, precious little ears and calm personality when I met him in October, so when he was in need of a place to crash for a few days I jumped at the chance.  I was so excited to get to know this little guy!

Not surprisingly, Charlie lived up to my expectations. He is a total doll. In my opinion he is the perfect combination of a calm, “old man” personality with bursts of total puppy behavior and antics.  He will snooze with you on the couch and then immediately romp around in the yard with you like a bunny rabbit (not an exaggeration). We spent the weekend relaxing, exercising, and laughing together (okay, maybe I was the one laughing and he was the one doing silly things).

Charlie is very food motivated, which made it easy for me to connect with him in just the short time I spent with him.  Whoever ends up with him will likely enjoy building a strong bond through training.  Charlie is a quick learner, is eager to please, and seems to like learning new things.

Like I mentioned, Charlie’s got a very gentle personality. The fact that he lives with and totally adores six-year old twins should be a pretty good sign to how solid his personality is. I would absolutely recommend Charlie to a home with kids – especially if they could tire each other out!

As if he hasn’t won you over yet, Charlie is almost as non-reactive as a year old puppy can be. When around other dogs he shows interest and wants to play (exhibited just by attention that direction and tail wags), but he almost immediately redirects towards you when you ask him to. This also goes for strangers – we met a large man on a walk who was wearing dark clothes, a hat and walking with a cane. Charlie thought he was just about the best person he’d ever met.

If you feel like I’m totally gushing about Charlie, you’re spot on.  This dog is AWESOME.  Even Mark, a tough critic when it comes to my fosters (as in he likes them, but doesn’t totally mind when they get adopted), fell in love and jokingly said he wouldn’t mind if I said I wanted to keep Charlie.

Charlie has only recently bounced back from some health issues, after finally being diagnosed with pemphigus foliaceus. This is an autoimmune disease he will have forever that affects his skin, but it is very easily managed and he should have a long, healthy life.   His foster home has done so much work to diagnose and treat the disease thus far, Charlie’s adopters shouldn’t have many problems at all moving forward.

I know I share a lot of adoptable dogs on this blog, but in case I hadn’t made this clear yet: Charlie is a very special catch!  He isn’t scooped up yet because he’s just now finally getting over his medical stuff, but I don’t doubt that he’ll be adopted quickly by a very lucky family (can you tell I’m a little jealous?).

Because we had three full days together and I didn’t have to work, Charlie and I went on some pretty awesome adventures. Even though he’s back at his foster home now, I’ll be writing about our time together all this week.  Stay tuned!

If you’re interested in adopting Charlie, email me at peacelovefoster@gmail.com or fill out an application with Jasmine’s House.

15 thoughts on “Meet Adoptable Charlie!

  1. Narda

    I completely agree with you. He is all sorts of Awesome! We got to hang out with him at the Home 4 the Holidays event, and he was such a doll. Completely well behaved, and calm while on the premises of the event, and a little jumping bunny rabbit when we took him for walk breaks in the park nearby. He dealt with lots of other dogs, adults, and tons of kids who wanted to love all -over him. He was perfect all day long! Whoever adopts him will be a lucky lucky human to have such an amazing dog.

  2. Niki & our beloved pibble Zeus

    Oh my…he is such a cutie! I’d scoop him up in a heartbeat if I could! I hope it won’t take long for him to find his forever home. :)

  3. bead·y-eyed [bee-dee-ahyd] Show IPA
    adjective
    1.
    marked by or having small, glittering eyes, especially eyes that seem to gleam with malice, avarice, or lechery.
    2.
    staring with suspicion, skepticism, etc.: The gambler gave the newcomer a beady-eyed look.

  4. “This also goes for strangers – we met a large man on a walk who was wearing dark clothes, a hat and walking with a cane. Charlie thought he was just about the best person he’d ever met.”
    omg that would be quite a welcome change of pace in my household haha

  5. Pingback: What Large Ears You Have. . . | Peace, Love, & Fostering

  6. Pingback: Long Weekend. . . with Charlie! | Peace, Love, & Fostering

  7. Pingback: Slow and Steady Wins the Playdate | Peace, Love, & Fostering

  8. Pingback: Winter is (Basically) Here… and We Love It! | Peace, Love, & Fostering

Leave a comment